IDriveSync Support - 1 866 748 0555

Frequently Asked Questions

 

 

What is IDriveSync?

IDriveSync syncs files of any size or type across your PCs and Macs. The application also makes it possible to seamlessly share files / folders with friends and associates. Your files are secured with encryption on transfer and storage.

IDriveSync has two interfaces to view and manage data for sync - IDriveSync Explorer and IDriveSync Advanced.

IDriveSync Explorer

IDriveSync Explorer Interface

Windows:

IDriveSync for Windows

Mac:

IDriveSync for Mac

Top

 

 

How do I sign up for an IDriveSync account?

Click here to sign up for a free or paid account.

Alternately, download and install the application. Click on 'New User Sign up' via the desktop client on your PC / Mac to register for an IDriveSync account.

Top

 

 

How do I set up my files / folders for sync on my PC / Mac?

To set up files / folders for sync on your PC / Mac, download and install the IDriveSync application and enter the login credentials. On logging into the application, the 'Sync' area opens up, where you can simply drag-and-drop or copy-paste the desired files / folders that you wish to sync; the data is now transferred online, or 'Syncs-Up' from your local computer.

Now, simply install the IDriveSync application on multiple PCs / Macs and login using the same authentication. The data is 'Synced-Down' and any changes made will be synced across PCs / Macs.

Note: You can Sync up to 5 computers. The data can also be synced between a PC and a Mac using the same login credentials.

Sync Drag-and-Drop

Top

 

 

Do updates on my files get synced automatically or is it a one-time process?

You can sync files automatically on subsequent changes as they happen elsewhere on your computer. In addition, you can also choose to sync files for one time across computers.

For Windows

Select the file / folder, right click and from the menu displayed choose the option 'IDriveSync' > 'Add and update to IDriveSync on change'. Subsequent changes made to the file / folder will get synced automatically.

Alternately, to sync files one time across computers, select 'Add this file / folder to IDriveSync one-time'.

Sync automatically

For Mac

Select the desired file / folder and click the IDriveSync icon on the toolbar from the Mac Finder. Choose 'Add Symbolic link to IDriveSync' option from the drop down menu. Subsequent changes made to the file / folder will get synced automatically.

Alternately, to sync files one time across computers, select 'Add this file / folder to IDriveSync'.

Add to IDriveSync one-time

Top

 

 

How do I sync files / folders using IDriveSync Advanced interface?

To sync files / folders using the IDriveSync Advanced interface, follow these steps:

For Windows

To sync your files one time on your PC, click on the tray menu and select 'IDriveSync Advanced'. Click on 'Add to IDriveSync one-time' and select the files to sync across computers.

If you wish to add and update your files automatically on subsequent changes as they happen elsewhere on your computer, click on 'Add and update to IDriveSync on change' and select the files to sync across computers.

Add to IDriveSync one-time

For Mac

To sync your files one time on your Mac, click on the status menu bar and select 'IDriveSync Advanced'. Click on 'Add to IDriveSync' and select the files to sync across computers.

If you wish to add and update your files automatically on subsequent changes as they happen elsewhere on your computer, click on 'Add Symbolic Link to IDriveSync' and select the files to sync across computers.

Add to IDriveSync one-time

Top

 

 

I see a red or green mark next to my files on my PC. What does it indicate?

Files to be synced are indicated with a red sign. Once synced, the indicator turns to a green check mark.

Sync indicator

Top

 

 

Is there any file size / type limitation for file sync and share?

IDriveSync supports sync (upto 5 computers) and sharing (upto 50 accounts) of files of all sizes and types. With a free account you can sync upto 5 GB of data and for as little as $4.95 / month, you can avail unlimited sync storage.

Top

 

 

How can I view the recent activities in my IDriveSync account?

You can view files / folders that have recently been added, modified or renamed in your IDriveSync account. Right click on the tray menu and select the option 'Recently modified files' to view the last five files / folders that are added or modified.

Top

 

 

What is LAN Sync?

The LAN Sync option allows you to save time and bandwidth by speeding up the Sync process. For example, when you download a file / folder, IDriveSync servers will first look for the latest version of the file / folder in your local network to avoid downloading the file / folder from the servers.

This speeds the sync process considerably. To enable this option, right-click on the IDriveSync tray icon > select 'Preferences'. Select the check box 'Enable LAN Sync'.

LAN Sync

Top

 

 

Do I require any pre requisites in order for Lan Sync to work?

To ensure LAN Sync is effective:

  • All your computers should be connected to the local area network.
  • IDriveSync needs an Internet connection to determine when to sync.
  • During initial installation of the IDriveSync desktop application, Windows firewall might ask for permission to allow IDriveSync access to the internet/LAN. To sync your data intact, ensure you permit access to the internet/LAN.
Note: Currently this feature is available only for Windows.

Top

 

 

Can I sync open / locked files?

Yes. The IDriveSync application lets you sync open files for supported platforms including Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows 2008 and 2003 servers.

To disable the feature, go to the IDriveSync tray menu, select Preferences and clear the option 'Enable Open file sync’ (available with Windows 7 / Vista / XP / 2008 / 2003) from the check box.

Top

 

 

Is it possible to retrieve an older copy of my file for sync?

Yes. IDriveSync maintains upto 30 previous versions of your files.

Steps:
1. Right-click the file and select 'View History' from the menu
2. On the 'File Version' screen, click the version that you want to sync on your PC / Mac and click the 'Sync Down' button.

Version

Top

 

 

How do I view the list of computers setup for sync?

From the IDriveSync Advanced application menu bar, go to Account Settings > Sync Computers List. You can view the list of computers setup for sync and modify the same.

Sync Computers List

Top

 

 

Will my files be synced across other computers even if they have been shut down?

Files will be synced across computers provided there is an internet connection. In case the computers are offline, the sync operation will resume, the moment the computers are connected to the Internet.

Top

 

 

Can I move the IDriveSync Explorer folder to a new location?

Yes. You can change the location of the IDriveSync Explorer folder.

For Windows:
On the IDriveSync tray menu, go to Preferences. Under the 'IDriveSync Explorer Path', the IDriveSync Explorer folder path will be available. You can browse and modify the location for IDriveSync Explorer.

For Mac:
On the IDriveSync status menu, click on Preferences. Under the General option, the path for the IDriveSync Explorer folder will be available directly inside the home directory. You can modify the location of IDriveSync Explorer.

Top

 

 

How do I find out the status of the sync process?

You are notified on the progress of the sync process on your desktop. Alternately, click the 'Status' option on the IDriveSync tray menu to view the status of the sync process.

You can also refer to the 'Activity Log' for details on all sync up / sync down / delete operations.

Sync Status

Top

 

 

How do I modify my account settings?

You can modify your account settings through the application menu bar or through the IDriveSync tray / status menu option.

Via menu bar:

  1. Login to the IDriveSync Advanced interface
  2. Click 'Account Settings' in the menu bar
  3. You can edit your profile, upgrade your account or cancel your subscription

Top

 

 

What is Selective Sync?

Selective Sync allows you to choose the folder(s) that you want synced to your computer. It is useful in case you want to free space on any of your computers.

In order to use the Selective Sync option, go to the IDriveSync tray menu, select Preferences > Selective Sync.

A list of all the top level folders in your sync account will be displayed. The folders with a check next to them will be synced to your computer, simply uncheck the folders that you don't wish to sync to your computer's hard drive. Any folder that is unchecked will not be synced.

Top

 

 

© 2012 Pro Softnet Corporation.
All rights reserved.